Paris Trip 9.25.10

26 09 2010

Whereas the previous day’s events were cut short by an attack of over-sleeping, today’s schedule was much more eventful. Leaving Hotel de Blois and after a quick cafe creme, I rounded the corner approaching Metro Mouton Duvernet only to hear and feel the thumping of drum &  bass. I walked towards the sound only to run into the rendezvous point of the Paris Techno Parade! This event features a string of large decorated busses crammed with radio personalities and DJ’s all spitting rumbling techno from multiple speakers. Thousands of people were gathered to dance, drink and mingle in the streets to remixes of David Guetta, the Black Eyed Peas and Tiesto to name a few. Some of the visitors were dressed in costumes and it really was a festival like atmosphere. Although I had a great time, it started to rain, and thus my Techno Parade experience came to an end.

Techno Parade visitors

A long line of techno music blaring vehicles meets adoring fans.

The next leg of my day was inspired by my mom. I remember that I had once asked her what her favorite place in the world was and she replied “Notre Dame.” I can recall on one finger the number of times I have been inside the iconic cathedral in the heart of Paris, yet I have always stopped to admire the exterior. Located on an island between the left and right banks of the Seine, the towering spires attract long lines, opportunistic buskers and street vendors selling 10 Eiffel Tower keychains for 2 euros. Tourist traps aside, Notre Dame is unparalleled in its notoriety and beauty. Each arch is carefully carved and the flying buttresses, gargoyles and rose windows provide for interesting details that are eternally intriguing and admirable.

Notre Dame

A child feeding the very friendly birds of Notre Dame.

Details of the arch as you enter through the doors.

"I always feel like somebody's watching me." – Beatfreakz

Waiting in the long line to get into Notre Dame is generally worth while, as long as the line moves quickly, as because entry is free. One can also pay several euros to climb to the top of the spires for a better view. The interior chapel though is a must see as light pours into the rose windows to illuminate the intricacies of the architecture. Every ten feet or so there is something to see – from tombs to statues to the confession boxes to the gift shop. For 5 euros (based on the honor system) you can buy a candle that can either be lit inside the cathedral or taken home as a souvenir. For 2 euros you get a small votive candle that you can light and place amongst thousands of others, all accompanied by a prayer. After this second visit into Notre Dame, I can understand why not only my mom, but any person, religious or non-religious, might name Notre Dame as their favorite place in the world.

For many, Notre Dame is far more than just a tourist attraction.

The rose window.

A candle to commemorate the visit.

I needed to kill some time before heading to Rue de Rivoli to meet my friend Kristy, so I decided to head into the Marais. The Marais is a wonderful part of Paris filled with Jewish pastry shops, fashion boutiques, kabob and felafel restaurants and unique museums featuring local work. Today I stumbled on a vintage show which featured old and new motorcycles and bikes on the outside and a flea market type atmosphere on the inside. Vendors were selling “vintage” clothing for semi-exobitant prices. One woman wanted 850 euros for an older Chanel handbag that I had considered buying for my sister until I heard the price! Also, call me crazy, but the American-style letter jacket is coming back into vogue. Here, these jackets were selling for hundreds of dollars and “fake” letter jackets are already in Marais stores. This may be a Parisian fad, but I am glad I hung onto mine!

Brooks baby!

This woman was way too cool to sit with the others.

After spending some time at the vintage fair, I met my friend Kristy and her friend Christine at Stolly’s, located off an inconspicuous side street of Rue de Rivoli. Stolly’s is owned by ex-pat Brits who also own a bar in Brooklyn and another in Paris according to Kristy. Nearly everyone here speaks English including the French patrons.

It was great to see Kristy again who became like a sister to me when we worked in Pontlevoy. Christine had now moved to Paris to pursue a graduate degree at the Sorbonne, the oldest and most esteemed university in Paris. After a few drinks we took the Bus #69 which goes through the Louvre and alongside the Seine and is a beautiful method in which to see the city. Arriving at Kristy’s apartment building it became obvious and ironic that she now lives about one block from where I used to live! “My bakery” is now “her bakery”! Je suis jealouse! It was nice to see the old neighborhood, watch some episodes of “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” and have some laughs. Bidding goodbye to my friends we planned to do brunch the next day and I took Metro Ecole Militaire back to my new “home” in Montparnasse. Whew what a day.

Kristy and Christine: They are on fire!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment