Paris Trip 9.27.2010

29 09 2010

The daytime today was spent doing relatively boring stuff such as visiting the laverie across the street to do some laundry. I hated doing this when I lived here and detest it even more now that it has taken time out of my vacation and cost me the equivalent of $10 US per load. Hungry from my hard work, I headed to a local jazz bar for Cuisse de Canard (leg of duck) and Risotto with mushrooms which was exceptionally delicious. The real meat and potatoes of the day (no pun intended) came with my first visit to the Champs Elysees. I used to visit the Champs Elysees almost every day, and find it the most attractive place to see the many people coming from all over the world. Here are some photos of my journey from the base of the Champs Elysees at Metro Champs Elysee Clemenceau to the Arc de Triomphe.

Metro Champs Elysees Clemenceau

The Champs Elysees

The newest window installation at Louis Vuitton

One of my favorite stores on the Champs Elysees. Great Escalator!

Walking up the Champs Elysees, especially if you are a car design enthusiast, is a real treat with every car retailer displaying their full gamut of eye candy. Peugeot was displaying concept cars with a very futuristic interior lighting display. Renault had cars through the ages on display to celebrate their 100th year on the Champs Elysee and Toyota was displaying its newest hybrid vehicles, complete with huge electric plug descending from the ceiling.

The Peugeot store with its futuristic display.

A cool vintage Renault used by the Parisian elite.

Walking from the base of the Champs Elysee can take some time, especially when you stop to people watch and visit some of the stores or have a coffee. Eventually, however, you reach the iconic star of the Champs Elysees, the Arc de Triomph!

Although I love where I work, there are some offices that make just about everyone jealous. The Publicis Groupe office is one that makes me green with envy. Mere meters from the Arc de Triomphe, the Publicis Office is likely the most impressive building on the Champs Elysees. The headquarters features a gourmet restaurant, convenience store, gift shop, bookstore and fully equipped movie theater. Maybe all this is just a ploy to keep employees in the office for longer hours –but I’ll bet it works.

Publicis Groupe Headquarters

Departing the Champs Elysees, I decided to take an alternate route to the metro so that I could see the Eiffel Tower overlooking the Seine and Invalides, where Napoleon is entombed. I arrived at the bridge Pont Des Invalides just in time to see the sparkling lights of the Eiffel Tower turn on, as they do every night at the top of the hour. These sights ended my night – and I could not have been happier!

This sight never gets old.

A perfect view of Invalides


Actions

Information

Leave a comment